First Day in JU (Tagged by Reeti)

Let’s see…I suppose First day means both the admission day and the first day.

Admission Day
The admission process was supposed to start at 10:30 AM so I decided to catch an early morning bus. It started to rain in the morning, the bus came late, it blew a tyre,bal blah blah. End Result. I get to JU at 1:30 PM. By that time the IR admission had started. I had to first go to The Principal Secretary of The Faculty of Arts. Then go to ALal, Who promptly asks me where I got stuck. (I had already informed them, that I would be late due to circumstances beyond my control) Then Amlanda verified my documents. He asked me where I got stuck. Go back down, fill fee book(Which was fairly easy), pay money(The exact amount), pick up Hostel form(was useless), did not pick up syllabus book(since it was IR syllabus book). Missed the ED lecture by Tintinda.( I first thought he was a student. He was sitting on one of the desks in a T-shirt. But luckily did not say anything to him.) Signed up for EDs. Went to mama’r dokan to find a room to stay in. Found a room. Went home.

The First Day
Try to find classroom. First go to wrong classroom(It was the UG3 classroom). Found Arindam there. Went to correct classroom(Which was the UG2 classroom). Squeezed in with Arindam, Aditya and Subael. Got introduced to Abhijan, Anomitra and Sohini…and promptly forgot their names. Infact I also forgot Arindam’s, Aditya’s and Subael’s names. 😳 Hey, not my fault. Listened to various lectures by the profs. Amlanda saying how JUDE was acquiring the reputation of a fun place, and how it was also a place for serious academic research. Sukantada saying that yes, JUDE was a fun place…and the rest…well, I could not understand what he said after that. Rimidi saying stuff like we cover the syllabus really fast and Alal making his bad puns. πŸ˜› Plus stuff like Supriyadi telling us about the various canteens and their names. Also warning us to be wary of Ahirwaad Canteen as they sometimes ,quite literally, gave “ashirwaad” with their food(and Tintinda was flapping his hands to indicate birds) Then we get food packets and day’s over. Which was a bit of a surprise. I remember Aditya saying as we walked out:- “First they say you have to work your ass off…then they say the day’s over.”

I would also like to add another first day, the day studies started(which was basically the very next day).

The day studies started.

Walked into class(Classroom had shifted. We were in a bigger classroom, since everyone was sitting on each other in the UG2 classroom). Met Lav. He asked me what the things over the door were. I informed him that they were called pelmets. And that lizards,bats,and sometimes honeybees would nest in them. Lav, being Lav, does not ask me about the bats,lizards or honeybees but instead ask me “Pelmets? What’s the etymology of the word?” and I told him “I haven’t the slightest clue.” Then First up Romantics. Rafatda. Nuff Zed. Victorians. Tintinda. Nuff Zed. break. explored canteens with Lav. Met Sambuddha. No EDs. Saw Lav asking Alal who had written the poem that was in our entrance exam, as he wanted to ask him a few things. Realised Lav was MAD. Bought a bucket. Went back to mess.

The End…of The Beginning

10 Responses to “First Day in JU (Tagged by Reeti)”

  1. Rukmini Says:

    Ha ha. the high point of your post was, “Bought a bucket. Went back to mess.” πŸ˜›

  2. Neelakantan K.K. Says:

    What? I did buy a bucket. 😐

  3. Reeti Says:

    At long last!

  4. Monidipa Says:

    i think the high point was slightly off the mark… it should be “Realised Lav was MAD. Bought a bucket.” some conspiracy neelu had been hatching from the very first (second? third?) day!!!!

  5. Neelakantan K.K. Says:

    @Reeti, Better late than never. And I’m not the last. Mwahaha.

    @Mandy, Shh. Be vewy vewy quiet.

  6. Rukmini Says:

    Hahaha. Etymology of the word pelmet ?! Hahaha. πŸ˜€

  7. parvathy Says:

    arre nt bad…goood memory u have !

  8. Nilanjana Says:

    Alal wrote the poem that was in the entrance exam paper?!! :O

    and neelu, it took you two days to realise lav was nuts?! shameonyoo! πŸ™‚

    also, what colour was the bucket?

  9. Neelakantan K.K. Says:

    @Neeli, No ALal did not write the poem. Lav asked ALal who it was. No. I took me about a whole day. NOT two days. Also the bucket was (and still is) peach-coloured.

  10. thesoliloquist Says:

    Very detailed.
    And I didn’t remember T’da flapping his hands!:P


Leave a Reply

