Cooking 101!

Come on, you knew I would blog about my cooking experiences–provided I didn’t die while cooking–and here I am! So what have I cooked so far?

I must state right here that the only judge of my cooking so far has been me and I’m really biased when it comes to things that I’ve done. I can do no wrong in my eyes. So take whatever I say with a pinch of salt.

In keeping with what I said, I’ve been frying stuff mostly. I have made rice though. The pressure cooker is a gift from God! It is so bloody easy to cook rice with it I can’t take any credit for that. So let’s move on to the ones that I can take credit for.

I fried Ivy Gourd, also known as tindora or kundri or kovakkai,and onions for lunch one day. It came out all right. The next day, I fried potatoes for lunch/dinner. Then I fried them together. Not such a good idea I’m afraid. I’ve realised that it would be a good idea to start frying the kundri first and then, when it is half done, to add the potatoes. I’m sure experienced cooks would have told me that. Actually, I think they would have told me not to cook them together. It did not turn out that bad. They kundri was cooked. It was not half-cooked or almost-raw. The potatoes were on the crisp side. It was an interesting combination. πŸ˜›

I bought chicken, 400gm of Arambagh’s boneless chicken. 400gm is a lot of chicken for one person so I manged to make it go for three days. The first two days I fried it at night to eat while watching the World Cup. πŸ˜› The first time, it came out decent. It was cooked well, it tasted good but it was not crisp. I had not dipped it in any batter or anything so I guess it would have to be really fried to be crisp. Anyway, it tasted good. The second time, I dipped it in an egg-batter and then in flour and fried it. It came out well. πŸ™‚ The credit for that tip goes to one of the lurkers on the blog. If you want your credit then delurk! If someone else tries to steal your credit, then please start a fight! My blog could do with some excitement. πŸ˜‰

Today I used up the last of the chicken. I made(or at least tried to make) chicken curry. It came out well, if slightly watery. I think I added excess water. But it boiled away. It tasted good and that is all that matters! πŸ˜€ I’m not sure I can make it again though because I added some masala that I don’t know the name of. Here I must digress and explain that my mom does not believe in labels! None of the containers are labeled. It was either garam masala or kitchen king masala. πŸ˜› Whatever it was, it smelt good and it doesn’t seem to have affected the dish in any adverse way. I need to find out what that was. There is also a bottle of Spencer’s Lime Juice in the fridge. I highly suspect that my dad has filled an empty bottle with Jal Jeera. That was definitely not lime juice. It did improve the taste of the chicken though. πŸ˜›

As I said before, frying is simple or at least my way of frying stuff is easy. I just heat some oil, add some mustard seed, dunk the thing to be fried, add salt, chilli powder and possibly some pepper and fry the thing. I can fry stuff well, except in cases where I mix things that should not be fried together. πŸ˜›

I also tried to make omlettes. The result… Well let’s put it this way: The Soul wanted omlettes but the Flesh settled for scrambled eggs. I realised that I was using the wrong tool to flip the omlette. I discovered today where we keep the spatula. It was there in plain sight. πŸ˜› I can make bread-omlettes though. πŸ˜›

Excuse me if I sound really kicked but it’s been a lot of fun. πŸ˜€ Allow me my boasting. πŸ˜›

In other news, after trying out many music players for Linux and even running Foobar2000 through WINE, I have discovered XMMS2. I really like it. It plays music really well. It has a graphical client but I prefer running it from the command line. It’s more powerful that way. πŸ™‚

Well, that’s about it for now. Switzerland shocked Spain today. It’s no good controlling the ball if you can’t score goals. DPR Korea gave Brazil a tough fight. The Portugal-CΓ΄te d’Ivoire match was not really that interesting. If Portugal continue to be so sluggish DPR Korea might actually go through if they manage to draw with CΓ΄te d’Ivoire and beat Portugal and if Brazil beat everyone. That’s an interesting group. I’m tired of typing now.

Posted in Myself. 7 Comments »

7 Responses to “Cooking 101!”

  1. Shreya Says:

    Haha! This is the most interesting food post I’ve read till date πŸ˜›

    Also the omelette becoming scrambled egg ALWAYS happens to me 😐

  2. Tuna Says:

    The secret to good chicken is to add as little water as possible. Of course, it depends on recipe to recipe. And you’ll get better with the omelettes – flipping them properly takes practice.
    But this was such a fun post to read! Way too many smileys, though. πŸ˜›

  3. Neelakantan K.K. Says:

    Yes, I suspected that the water was the culprit. And yes, the post does seem to have an eczema of smileys. πŸ˜›

  4. CheshireCat Says:

    Eczema. Word of the day. Right after hirsute and I-forget-the-other-one.
    P.s. This post makes me want fried chicken. Now.
    *is annoyed*

  5. parvathy Says:

    i want i want i want ! u r cooking next time i am home πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

