पाँच पहर धन्धे गया, तीन पहर गया सोय । एक पहर हरि नाम बिन, मुक्ति कैसे होय ॥

I didn’t really like studying Hindi in class IX and X. I liked the period because we would have to change classes and there would be the inevitable chaos and struggle for seats. There were quite a few good poems and stories. There were also some good essays. But on the whole, I didn’t really like giving Hindi exams. However I really liked some of the stuff we had to read.

There was “परशुराम की प्रतीक्षा” by Ramdhari Singh Dinkar, there were poems by Harivanshrai Bachchan and others. There were essays by Hazari Prasad Dwivedi. It was actually quite a good course. I should actually have studied it with a bit more interest.

My favourites were however the dohas of Kabir and Rahim.

And as usual, you can find anything you want on google.

Kabir’s Dohas

There are also links to Rahim’s dohas and many other literary works.

This is why I love the internet.

Posted in Myself. Tags: , . 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “पाँच पहर धन्धे गया, तीन पहर गया सोय । एक पहर हरि नाम बिन, मुक्ति कैसे होय ॥”

  1. Priyanka Says:

    oh my god, Parshuram ki Prateeksha had a line that went thus:

    Chattaano ki chhaati se doodh nikalo.

    If that ain’t damaging i don’t know what is.

    I liked the vyangya bits, Gopal Chaturvedi especially. I forget what he wrote, but there was something about the entire country’s problem with borrowing.

  2. Neelakantan K.K. Says:

    They’ve changed the books I hear. 😐

    There were a lot more . That short story book had some nice stories. Like that one about the chatak which goes off to find some other source of water and repents after seeing the por boy who returned a shitload of money.

  3. parvathy Says:

    omg ! no one wud have imagined a day when u wud be regretting u didn pay more attention in Hindi !!


Leave a comment